
 Visit Our Website – fwp.mt.gov 1

Licenses

The following licenses are available at all FWP offices, FWP website and most FWP
license providers throughout the state.

2006
Spring
 Turkey

These regulations are adopted under the authority granted to the Fish, Wildlife & Parks
Commission (FWPC) in MCA 87-1-301 and are valid March 1, 2006 through February 28, 2007.
These regulations were adopted by the FWPC on February 21, 2006. The FWPC reserves the
authority to amend the seasons, limits and regulations herein if deemed necessary for wildlife
management purposes.  M. Jeff Hagener, Director.

State and Federal laws, Title VI of Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act
of 1973, Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, the Age Discrimination Act of
1975, and Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, prohibit discrimination on the basis of
race, color, sex, age, religion, national origin, or disability. Anyone believing he or she has been
discriminated against (as described above) in any Fish, Wildlife & Parks (FWP) program,
activity, or facility may write to FWP Personnel Office, 1420 East Sixth Avenue, PO Box
200701, Helena, MT 59620-0701 or the office of Equal Opportunity, U.S. Department of the
Interior, Washington, D.C. 20240.

Montana Hunting
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LICENSE REQUIREMENTS COST 
Conservation Required Prerequisite 

Montana residents 12-14 years of age, 
62 years of age and older, or holders of 
a Disabled Resident Conservation 
License, need only the conservation 
license and a valid turkey license to 
hunt turkey. 

$8 Resident 
$10 Nonresident 

Hunting Access 
Enhancement 
Fee 

Required Prerequisite.   
Annual fee charged at the time the 
hunter purchases his/her first hunting 
license. 

$2 Resident 
$10 Nonresident 

Spring Turkey Available to resident and nonresident 
conservation license holders 12 years 
of age or older. Persons under 12 years 
of age may not hunt turkey.  

$6.50 Resident 
$115** Nonresident 
**$55 to nonresident 
holders of an upland 
game bird license.  

Upland Game 
Bird  

Required prerequisite for residents $7.50 Resident 
$110 Nonresident 

Resident Youth 
Upland Game 
Bird 

Available to resident conservation 
license holders 15-17 years of age. 

$3 Resident Only 

Special Permits Applications must be 
postmarked by March 15. 

$5 Resident 
$5 Nonresident 
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General Regulations
These regulations apply to all legally described spring male turkey hunting
districts and areas.
Spring Season — April 8 – May 21,  2006
Hunter Education – All persons born after January 1, 1985, are required to
provide proof of completion of a Montana hunter safety and education course
or an approved hunter safety course from any other state or province prior to
applying for or purchasing a hunting license.

Limit – The total combined harvest limit of the spring and fall seasons cannot
exceed two turkeys per hunter.  For example, if you kill two turkeys during the
spring season, you may not hunt turkey during the fall season.

Turkey hunters may use one of the following options to harvest a turkey
during the spring season:

• harvest one male turkey in a general hunting area, or a special permit
area or administrative Region 7; or

• harvest two male turkeys in administrative Region 7; or
• harvest one male turkey in a general hunting area or a special permit

area and one male turkey in administrative Region 7.

Administrative Region 7 includes:  Garfield, Rosebud, Treasure, Prairie,
Custer, Powder River, Richland, Dawson, Wibaux, Fallon and Carter counties.

Means of Taking –
Wild turkey may be taken with:

• a shotgun not larger than a ten gauge; and/or
• a long, recurve or compound bow and arrow

The following methods or devices are prohibited in taking game birds and
animals:

• The use of poisonous, explosive, or deleterious substances on or in any
bullet, projectile or arrow is prohibited.  The possession of firearms with
silencers while afield is illegal.

Private Land Access: Montana law requires permission for all hunting on
private land.  Even if the land is not posted, hunters must have permission
from the landowner, lessee, or their agent before hunting on private property.
Landowners may grant permission face-to-face, over the phone, in writing, or
by posting signs that explain the type of hunting allowed—game species or
sex—and under what conditions. Visit FWP’s website for the 2005 Interactive
Hunt Planner or visit nris.mt.gov/gis for assistance with land ownership.

Railroad Access – Railroad right-of-ways are private property and may not
be hunted without permission.

State School Trust Lands Recreational Use License –
• The $10 fee of the past has been replaced by a $2 addition to the

conservation license, which allows hunters, anglers and trappers
access to all legally accessible state school trust lands. Trappers will
still need to secure a “Special State Lands Recreational Use License”
from DNRC at no additional charge.

• Other recreational activities such as hiking and bird watching still
require the $10 fee. These activities cannot, by Federal statute, be
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covered by the conservation license.  Such a diversion could jeopardize
$12 million in federal funds Montana receives annually for fish and
wildlife management.

Indian Reservations – Hunters hunting on Indian reservations should check
Indian reservation regulations because allowable species, season dates,
shooting hours and/or bag limits may differ from state regulations.

Checking Stations – All hunters are required to stop as directed at all
designated check stations on their way to and from hunting and fishing areas,
even if they have no game or fish to be checked.

Tagging – Immediately after harvesting a wild turkey, cut out the proper
month and first and second digits of the day from the license and affix the
license to the turkey so it remains secure and visible at all times.

Evidence of Sex – No person shall transport within the state any turkey
taken during the spring turkey gobbler season unless one leg and foot are left
naturally attached for evidence of sex. The leg and foot shall remain attached
at all times while being transported from the place where taken until they have
arrived at the permanent residence of the possessor.

Wanton Waste – It is illegal to waste any part of any game animal, game bird,
or game fish suitable for food. Following are turkey parts suitable for food:
breasts, thighs and wings.

It is unlawful for anyone to hunt or attempt to hunt any game animal or
game bird:

• from any self propelled (that is, motorized) or drawn vehicle;
• on, from, or across any public highway or the shoulder, berm, or barrow

pit right-of-way of any public highway (the entire width between the
boundary lines of every publicly maintained way when any part thereof
is open to the use of the public for purposes of vehicular travel,
MCA 61-1-202) in the state of Montana; or

• by the aid or with the use of any set gun, jacklight, spotlight or other
artificial light, trap, snare, salt lick, or bait (MCA 87-3-101).  (Baiting
shall mean the placing, exposing, depositing, distributing, or scattering
of corn, wheat, or other grain or food sources so as to constitute a lure
or attraction. Nothing shall prohibit the taking of birds over standing
crops or harvested cropland or grains scattered as a result of
agricultural harvesting.)

Recorded Animal or Bird Sounds – It is unlawful to use any recorded or
electrically amplified bird or animal calls, sounds or imitations of bird or animal
calls or sounds to assist in the hunting, taking, killing or capturing of any
wildlife except predatory animals (MCA 87-3-108).

Two-way Communication – Two-way communication may not be used to:
• Hunt game animals or upland game birds, migratory birds or furbearers

as defined in MCA 87-2-101 (8) (“Hunt” means to “pursue, shoot,
wound, kill, chase, lure, possess or capture.”), or

• Avoid game checking stations, FWP enforcement personnel, or to
facilitate illegal activity.

Hunting Hours – One-half hour before sunrise to one-half hour after sunset.
Complete sunrise/sunset tables as adopted by the Fish, Wildlife & Parks
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Annual Hunting & Harvest Survey
We’re counting on you!

For over 20 years, Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks has conducted an
annual telephone survey to gather hunting and harvest information for
Montana game species.  The survey begins in mid January and
continues into March.

Telephone interviewers located across the state call from their homes
mid-week evenings and weekends to speak to hunters one-on-one to
get the most accurate information possible. Results from the
statewide survey are used by wildlife managers to evaluate past
hunting seasons and to set permit quotas, season dates and other
regulations for future years.

So, when your phone rings in the coming months, you might not
recognize the name on your Caller ID but it could be a friendly Fish,
Wildlife and Parks interviewer wanting to visit with you about your
hunting.

State Headquarters
MT Fish, Wildlife &
   Parks
1420 E 6th Avenue
PO Box 200701
Helena, MT  59620
(406) 444-2535

Telephone Device for
   the Deaf
(406) 444-1200

Region 1
490 N Meridian Rd
Kalispell, MT  59901
(406) 752-5501

Region 2
3201 Spurgin Rd
Missoula, MT  59804
(406) 542-5500

Region 3
1400 South 19th  Ave
Bozeman, MT  59718
(406) 994-4042

Helena Area Res
   Office (HARO)
930 Custer Ave W
Helena, MT  59620
(406) 495-3260

Butte Area Res Office
   (BARO)
1820 Meadowlark Ln
Butte, MT  59701
(406) 494-1953

Region 4
4600 Giant Springs Rd
Great Falls, MT  59405
(406) 454-5840

Lewistown Area Res
   Office (LARO)
215 W Aztec Dr
PO Box 938
Lewistown, MT  59457
(406) 538-4658

Region 5
2300 Lake Elmo Dr
Billings, MT  59105
(406) 247-2940

Region 6
54078 US Hwy 2 W
Glasgow, MT  59230
(406) 228-3700

Havre Area Res
   Office (HvARO)
2165 Hwy 2 East
Havre, MT  59501
(406) 265-6177

Region 7
Industrial Site West
PO Box 1630
Miles City, MT  59301
(406)234-0900

Fish, Wildlife & Parks Offices
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Administrative Region 7

General hunting areas are open to all hunters who hold a valid spring turkey
license.

General Hunting Areas:  Flathead Valley and FWP Region 6 Portion of
Chouteau County (see legal descriptions below), Ravalli County in its entirety,
Hill, Fergus, Wheatland, Sweet Grass, Stillwater and Carbon counties in their
entirety and all counties lying east of these, including Administrative Region 7.

Flathead Valley –
Turkey are found primarily on private land and access is limited and difficult.

All of Flathead County and that portion of Lake County lying within the
following described boundary: Beginning on the shoreline of Flathead Lake at
the junction of the Flathead County Line, then easterly along the county line
to the Swan Divide, then southerly along said divide to USFS Trail 10 in
Section 36, T26N, R18W, then southwesterly along said trail to USFS Road
9508 (Six Mile Road), then southerly along said road to Route 83, then
southerly along said route to USFS Road 10229 (Porcupine Creek Road),
then westerly and southerly along said road to the south boundary of T26N,
the 6th Standard Parallel North, then west along said township line to the
Flathead Indian Reservation boundary, then north and west along said
boundary to the east shore of Flathead Lake, then north along the shore of
said lake to the Flathead County line, the point of beginning.

FWP Region 6 Portion of Chouteau County –
That portion of FWP Region 6 in Chouteau County lying north of the Missouri
and east of the Marias Rivers.

General Hunting

General
  Hunting Areas
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Special Permit Application Process

Hunters must possess a special spring male turkey permit, in conjunction with
their valid spring turkey license, to hunt in special permit hunting areas.
Applicants may apply for a special spring male turkey permit in only one area
of the state.  The special spring male turkey permit allows the hunter to hunt
in the described area during the time period specified on the permit.  Permit
quotas listed in these regulations are final for 2006.

Applications must be postmarked no later than March 15 of the current year,
to be eligible for the drawing. Successful applicants will be notified by mail
and will be required to purchase a valid spring turkey license before hunting.

Special Permit Hunting Areas

Lincoln and Sanders Counties
Applicants must apply for either Sanders or Lincoln county area and submit in
writing their name, address, ALS number, and a $5 nonrefundable drawing fee to
MFW&P, Turkey Drawing, 490 N Meridian Rd, Kalispell, MT 59901 or apply
online at fwp.mt.gov.

————— Lincoln County —————
Special Permit Spring. Drawing Only. Apply by Mar 15.
182-20: 300 permits. Lincoln County
 • Apr 08 - May 21 – Male Turkey.

————— Sanders County —————
Special Permit Spring. Drawing Only. Apply by Mar 15.
183-20: 200 permits. Sanders County
 • Apr 08 - May 21 – Male Turkey.
Region 2 Areas
Applicants may apply for only one of the following special permits and must
submit in writing their name, address, ALS number, and a $5 nonrefundable
drawing fee to MFW&P, Turkey Drawing, 3201 Spurgin Rd, Missoula, MT 59804 or
apply online at fwp.mt.gov.

————— Granite County —————
Special Permit Spring. Drawing Only. Apply by Mar 15.
295-20: 5 permits. Powell and portion of Granite Counties
 • Apr 08 - May 21 – Male Turkey.

————— Mineral County —————
Special Permit Spring. Drawing Only. Apply by Mar 15.
282-20: 15 permits. Mineral County
 • Apr 08 - May 21 – Male Turkey.

————— Missoula County —————
Special Permit Spring. Drawing Only. Apply by Mar 15.
283-20: 30 permits. Missoula County
 • Apr 08 - May 21 – Male Turkey.
283-21: 5 permits. Only youth ages 12-14. Missoula County
 • Apr 08 - May 21 – Male Turkey. Only youth ages 12-14.
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• Select the largest stump, blow-down, tree-trunk, or rock to place
your back against when calling; a hunter is more likely to spot
another hunter moving to the front or side than from behind.

• Eliminate the colors white, red, black and blue from your hunting
outfit; this includes handkerchiefs, socks, underwear, etc.

• Select your calling spot in open timber rather than thick brush;
eliminating movement is a key to success, not concealment.

• In areas of high hunter concentrations, wear blaze orange when
walking to and from your vehicle; this is also a good idea when
carrying a bird out of the woods.

• Be discreet when imitating the sound of a gobbling turkey.
• When songbirds, crows or your turkey shuts up--look out; there’s

a good chance another hunter is moving in on your bird.
• Never move, wave or make turkey sounds to alert another hunter

of your presence; remain still, cough or holler.

A safe turkey hunter, like a safe driver, is defensive minded.
Below are some tips you should consider.

Defensive Turkey Hunting Tactics

————— Powell County —————
Special Permit Spring. Drawing Only. Apply by Mar 15.
295-20: 5 permits. Powell and portion of Granite Counties
 • Apr 08 - May 21 – Male Turkey.

Admin Reg  3 and Park County
Applicants must apply for either FWP Admin Reg 3 or Park county and submit in
writing their name, address, ALS number, and a $5 nonrefundable drawing fee to
MFW&P, Turkey Drawing, 1400 South 19th, Bozeman, MT 59718 or apply online
at fwp.mt.gov.

————— Park County —————
Special Permit Spring. Drawing Only. Apply by Mar 15.
385-20: 20 permits. Park County
 • Apr 08 - May 21 – Male Turkey.
385-21: 2 permits. Only youth ages 12-14. Park County
 • Apr 08 - May 21 – Male Turkey. Only youth ages 12-14.

————— FWP Admin Reg 3 —————
Special Permit Spring. Drawing Only. Apply by Mar 15.
395-20: 25 permits. Beaverhead, Silver Bow, Jefferson, Broadwater, Madison, Gallatin

and Lewis and Clark Counties.
 • Apr 08 - May 21 – Male Turkey.
395-21: 2 permits. Beaverhead, Silver Bow, Jefferson, Broadwater, Madison, Gallatin

and Lewis and Clark Counties.
 • Apr 08 - May 21 – Male Turkey. Only youth ages 12-14.
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ZONE 1 ZONE 2

ZONE 3 ZONE 4

1420 East Sixth Avenue, PO Box 200701
Helena, MT 59520-0701

406-444-2535 — fwp.mt.gov

ZONE 1
INCLUDES:  Flathead, Granite,
Lake, Lincoln, Mineral,
Missoula, Ravalli and Sanders
Counties

ZONE 2
INCLUDES:  Beaverhead,
Broadwater, Cascade,
Choteau, Deer Lodge, Gallatin,
Glacier, Hill, Jefferson, Lewis &
Clark, Liberty, Madison,
Meagher, Park, Pondera,
Powell, Silver Bow, Teton and
Toole Counties.

ZONE 3
INCLUDES:  Big Horn, Blaine,
Carbon, Fergus, Golden Valley,
Judith Basin, Musselshell,
Petroleum, Phillips, Stillwater,
Sweet Grass, Wheatland and
Yellowstone Counties

ZONE 4
INCLUDES:  Carter, Custer,
Daniels, Dawson, Fallon,
Garfield, McCone, Powder
River, Prairie, Richland,
Roosevelt, Rosebud, Sheridan,
Treasure, Valley and Wibaux
Counties

Sunrise-Sunset Tables
For Determining Hunting
Hours
These tables, including
adjustments for daylight
savings time, are the official
sunrise-sunset tables adopted
by the Montana Fish, Wildlife &
Parks Commission for hunting
in Montana. (Do not utilize
from other sources).

Apr May
Rise   Set Rise   Set

Day A.M.  P.M. A.M.  P.M.
01 5:57 6:47 6:02 8:28
02 6:55 7:49 6:00 8:30
03 6:53 7:50 5:59 8:31
04 6:51 7:51 5:57 8:33
05 6:49 7:53 5:56 8:34
06 6:47 7:54 5:54 8:35
07 6:45 7:55 5:53 8:36
08 6:43 7:57 5:51 8:38
09 6:41 7:58 5:50 8:39
10 6:39 8:00 5:49 8:40
11 6:37 8:01 5:47 8:42
12 6:35 8:02 5:46 8:43
13 6:34 8:04 5:45 8:44
14 6:32 8:05 5:43 8:46
15 6:30 8:06 5:42 8:47
16 6:28 8:08 5:41 8:48
17 6:26 8:09 5:40 8:49
18 6:24 8:11 5:39 8:50
19 6:22 8:12 5:38 8:52
20 6:21 8:13 5:36 8:53
21 6:19 8:15 5:35 8:54
22 6:17 8:16 5:34 8:55
23 6:15 8:18 5:33 8:56
24 6:14 8:19 5:32 8:57
25 6:12 8:20 5:32 8:58
26 6:10 8:22 5:31 8:59
27 6:09 8:23 5:30 9:00
28 6:07 8:24 5:29 9:01
29 6:05 8:26 5:28 9:02
30 6:04 8:27 5:28 9:03
31 5:27 9:04

Apr May
Rise   Set Rise   Set

Day A.M.  P.M. A.M.  P.M.
01 6:08 6:57 6:14 8:38
02 7:06 7:59 6:12 8:39
03 7:04 8:00 6:10 8:40
04 7:02 8:01 6:09 8:42
05 7:00 8:03 6:07 8:43
06 6:58 8:04 6:06 8:44
07 6:56 8:05 6:05 8:46
08 6:54 8:07 6:03 8:47
09 6:52 8:08 6:02 8:48
10 6:50 8:09 6:00 8:49
11 6:48 8:11 5:59 8:51
12 6:47 8:12 5:58 8:52
13 6:45 8:13 5:57 8:53
14 6:43 8:15 5:55 8:54
15 6:41 8:16 5:54 8:56
16 6:39 8:17 5:53 8:57
17 6:37 8:19 5:52 8:58
18 6:36 8:20 5:51 8:59
19 6:34 8:22 5:50 9:00
20 6:32 8:23 5:49 9:01
21 6:30 8:24 5:47 9:03
22 6:28 8:26 5:47 9:04
23 6:27 8:27 5:46 9:05
24 6:25 8:28 5:45 9:06
25 6:23 8:30 5:44 9:07
26 6:22 8:31 5:43 9:08
27 6:20 8:32 5:42 9:09
28 6:18 8:34 5:41 9:10
29 6:17 8:35 5:41 9:11
30 6:15 8:36 5:40 9:12
31 5:39 9:13

Apr May
Rise   Set Rise   Set

Day A.M.  P.M. A.M.  P.M.
01 5:43 6:32 5:49 8:12
02 6:41 7:34 5:48 8:14
03 6:39 7:35 5:46 8:15
04 6:37 7:36 5:45 8:16
05 6:35 7:38 5:43 8:18
06 6:33 7:39 5:42 8:19
07 6:31 7:40 5:40 8:20
08 6:30 7:42 5:39 8:22
09 6:28 7:43 5:38 8:23
10 6:26 7:44 5:36 8:24
11 6:24 7:46 5:35 8:25
12 6:22 7:47 5:34 8:27
13 6:20 7:48 5:32 8:28
14 6:18 7:50 5:31 8:29
15 6:17 7:51 5:30 8:30
16 6:15 7:52 5:29 8:31
17 6:13 7:54 5:28 8:33
18 6:11 7:55 5:26 8:34
19 6:09 7:56 5:25 8:35
20 6:08 7:58 5:24 8:36
21 6:06 7:59 5:23 8:37
22 6:04 8:00 5:22 8:38
23 6:02 8:02 5:21 8:39
24 6:01 8:03 5:21 8:41
25 5:59 8:04 5:20 8:42
26 5:57 8:06 5:19 8:43
27 5:56 8:07 5:18 8:44
28 5:54 8:08 5:17 8:45
29 5:52 8:10 5:17 8:46
30 5:51 8:11 5:16 8:47
31 5:15 8:47

Apr May
Rise   Set Rise   Set

Day A.M.  P.M. A.M.  P.M.
01 6:15 7:05 6:21 8:46
02 7:13 8:07 6:19 8:48
03 7:11 8:08 6:18 8:49
04 7:09 8:09 6:16 8:50
05 7:07 8:11 6:15 8:52
06 7:05 8:12 6:13 8:53
07 7:04 8:14 6:12 8:54
08 7:02 8:15 6:10 8:56
09 7:00 8:16 6:09 8:57
10 6:58 8:18 6:08 8:58
11 6:56 8:19 6:06 8:59
12 6:54 8:20 6:05 9:01
13 6:52 8:22 6:04 9:02
14 6:50 8:23 6:02 9:03
15 6:48 8:24 6:01 9:04
16 6:47 8:26 6:00 9:06
17 6:45 8:27 5:59 9:07
18 6:43 8:29 5:58 9:08
19 6:41 8:30 5:56 9:09
20 6:39 8:31 5:55 9:10
21 6:38 8:33 5:54 9:11
22 6:36 8:34 5:53 9:13
23 6:34 8:35 5:52 9:14
24 6:32 8:37 5:52 9:15
25 6:31 8:38 5:51 9:16
26 6:29 8:40 5:50 9:17
27 6:27 8:41 5:49 9:18
28 6:26 8:42 5:48 9:19
29 6:24 8:44 5:47 9:20
30 6:22 8:45 5:47 9:21
31 5:46 9:22


